Grilled Chicken Teriyaki over Rice

I’ve mentioned previously how to make a vegetable stir fry featuring teriyaki sauce, but sometimes you want some protein too. It’s a similar recipe, except that I cook the chicken and vegetables separately, and then combine then with some warmed up sauce. I don’t have a real grill at home, just a small George Foreman grill, so keep that in mind if you try this at home!

This can be made using whatever vegetables you want; I’ve just included the ones I like the most. You can add as much or as little sauce as you like and you can also replace the rice with noodles or quinoa or your favorite starch. (I should try my veggie spiralizer to make noodles for this …)

I’ve adapted this from the Cooking Classy recipe, but I’ve changed parts of it to suit my tastes. Personally, I find using teriyaki sauce from the grocery store that is already slightly thick is better than making teriyaki sauce from scratch. I also like to mix in a few other things.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb thin chicken breasts
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 medium zucchini, diced
  • 1/2 medium onion, diced
  • 1 1/2 cups carrots, diced or cut into matchsticks
  • 2 cups broccoli florets, diced
  • 3/4 – 1 cup teriyaki sauce (I like to mix two parts island teriyaki with one part light soy sauce, with some hot chili sauce for a kick)
  • Cooked rice

Instructions

  1. Cook rice according to package instructions. (I use a rice cooker!)
  2. Brush about 1 tbsp olive oil onto your chicken breasts and, if necessary, onto your grill.
  3. Season the chicken with pepper.
  4. Grill chicken for about 4 minutes on each side, until cooked through.
  5. Let chicken rest for 5 minutes and then dice into cubes.
  6. Heat 2 tbsp olive oil in a saute pan over medium-high heat.
  7. Add all vegetables and garlic. Saute 4-5 minutes until tender.
  8. While vegetables are cooking, heat up sauce in a small saucepan and let thicken slightly. (If necessary, you can add corn starch for more thickness)
  9. Turn off the heat. Add cubed chicken and sauce to the saute pan and combine.
  10. Serve over bowls of rice.

 

Leave a Reply

